ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH FOUNDATION 2009 Annual General Meeting

Pocaterra Room, Delta Lodge Kananaskis Kananaskis, Alberta Sunday, May 3, 2009 15:00 to 16:00 hours Sunday May 03, 2009

As Approved at the November 23, 2009 Teleconference Meeting

Item 01: Roll Call

The Trustees attending the Annual General Meeting were Duncan Ellison, Michael Florian, Len Gallant, Tim Roark, Dean Sargeant, Pam Scharfe, Klaus Seeger and Rick Sokolowski.

Apologies were received from Shendra Brisdon, Ken Cross, Ron de Burger, Adam Grant, Marilyn Lee and Peter Rogers.

James Dean, of The Pas, MB attended as a guest.

A quorum was present.

Item 02: Adoption of Agenda

Tim Roark moved and Dean Sargeant seconded a motion to adopt the Agenda as presented. There were no items proposed for discussion under Other Business.

Adopted

Item 03: Minutes of the St. John's Annual General Meeting of July 20, 2008

The summary of the Minutes of the St. John's Annual General Meeting, adopted by the board on December 14, 2008 was provided by the Secretary.

The members present noted the information provided.

Noted

Item 04: Report of the Chair of the Board regarding the Board meeting of May 3, 2009

Michael Florian reported briefly on the decisions of the Board of Trustees at the Meeting at 13:00 hours, earlier.

He noted that the target for the trust fund was to be increased to \$80,000, and that several action items regarding communications with the Health Units are to be carried. Out.

The members present noted the information provided.

Noted

Item 05: Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer reviewed his written report, and it was noted by the Members present that the accumulated interest would be transferred to the endowment funds.

No questions were asked of the Treasurer and the report was deemed accepted.

Accepted

Item 06: Administrative Policies

Tim Roark advised the members present that the six current Administrative policies had been reviewed and found to be current, and that three new Policies had been approved: Friends of the Trustees, Fiduciary Responsibility of the Trustees, and Matching Fund Grants.

No questions were asked of Tim Roark and the report was deemed accepted.

Accepted

Item 07: Approval of the Report to the CIPHI AGM

The report of the proposed to be given of EHFC activities to the CIPHI AGM was presented by Michael Florian and discussed.

Pam Scharfe proposed and Tim Roark seconded a motion to approve the report with a note that

- o the Strategic Plan had been modified by increasing the Target for the Trust Funds from \$50,000 to \$80,000,
- with the correction of the amount of funds held in segregated funds (from \$47,707.30 to \$51, 707.30 – representing the transfer of accumulated interest to the endowment funds), and
- with the correction that Trustee Ken Cross Sk had been replaced by Rick Sokolowski of MB, and
- o with the note that Ralph Stanley of ON has joined the Board of Trustees.

Adopted

Item 08 Appointment of Trustees

The Table of Trustees and Appointments was reviewed and several corrections were made. Notably amongst them that

- o Dean Sargeant would not be seeking re-nomination and would leave the Board,
- o Ralph Stanley be appointed for the period 2009 to 2010,

- Marilyn Lee, and Peter Rogers should be appointed for a further period of two years, and
- o Dr. John Blatherwick's status as Honorary Chair be re-confirmed

Tim Roark proposed and Pam Scharfe seconded a motion that Ralph Stanley of Ontario be appointed to the Board.

Adopted

Tim Roark proposed and Pam Scharfe seconded a motion that the other appointment decisions be confirmed.

Adopted

Pam Scharfe proposed and Dean Sargeant seconded a motion that the Current Officers be confirmed as officers for the coming year.

Adopted

The revised Table of Trustees and Appointments is attached.

Item 09 Other Business

Annual newsletter: Tim Roark announced that he was doing this and would work with Pam Scharfe and the Communications Committee.

Tim Roark proposed and Len Gallant seconded a motion that his function should be added to the scope of the Communications Committee.

Adopted

Item 19 Closure

Duncan Ellison proposed and Dean Sargeant seconded a motion to close the meeting.

Accepted

Trustee Appointments and Elections

(As revised at the 2009 AGM)

The current list of Trustees and appointments is:

Trustee	Appointment, Current and (Number of Terms)	Province	Due for Reappointment in 2010	2009/2010 Function	
Michael	NEC Designee	Nova Scotia		Chair	
Florian	$(2002)(7^{th})$				
Shendra	(2009 - 2010)	British Columbia	Yes	Vice-	
Brisdon	(4 th)			Chair	
Klaus Seeger	(2009 - 2010) (9 th)	Ontario	Yes	Past Chair	
Tim Roark	NEC Designee (1998) (10 th)	British Columbia		Treasurer	
Duncan Ellison	(2009-2010) (5 th)	Ontario	Yes	Secretary	
Adam Grant	NEC Designee (2009) (1st)	Ontario			President CIPHI
Pam Scharfe	(2009 - 2010) (2 nd)	Ontario	Yes		
Peter Rogers	(2010 - 2011) (5 th)	Manitoba			
Ralph Stanley	(2009 - 2010) (1 st)	Ontario	Yes		
Rick Sokolowski	NEC Designee (2009) (1 st)	Manitoba			
Ron de Burger	(2009 - 2010) (4 th)	Ontario	Yes		
Marilyn Lee	(2010 - 2011) (5 th)	Ontario			
Len Gallant	(2009 - 2010) (2 nd)	Prince Edward Island	Yes		
Dr. John Blatherwick	(2009 - 2010) (4 th)	British Columbia		Honorary Chair	

^{*} The Regulations of the Foundation permit a total of 17 voting Trustees.